Weekend Trip to Hong Kong Day 2

DSC_0243DSC_0250DSC_0255 DSC_0272 DSC_0277 DSC_0287 2015-05-17-18-38-10_decoEgg tart, a must-have in Hong Kong!DSC_0296 DSC_0297 DSC_0313 DSC_0319 DSC_0329This is how foggy it was up at the Peak when I went.DSC_0333Another picture to prove just how foggy it was! I’m 100% sure that the view would have been beautiful if only the weather was cooperating so if you happen to be in HK on a good day, it would be worth the trip! DSC_0340

My second day in Hong Kong was spent seeing and doing everything I wanted to do. It was my only full day in the country before I headed back to Seoul the next morning. I started with Kowloon Walled City Park and made my way down. I looked up bakeries that have the best egg tarts and chose one (and the favorite of the blogger) that was close to where I was in Kowloon! It’s called Hoover Cake Shop and it wasn’t too hard to find! I’m not a huge fan of egg tarts, but I don’t hate them either. They’re just alright but these egg tarts were great. Only 7 HKD, it’s pretty cheap and a must-have in Hong Kong.

Afterwards, I headed to Mong Kok where all the markets are (Flower, bird, ladies, sports, and goldfish). I honestly was a little bit disappointed by the Yuen Po Bird Garden, I expected a lot more vendors and just rows and rows of people selling birds but it’s actually not like that at all. Still worth going to though and it’s interesting to see all the different kinds of birds. I was pretty surprised to see a parrot! I walked past the Flower market to the Ladies market. I wanted to go to the goldfish street but I’m a bit afraid of fish (anything underwater) so I decided to save that for next time when I’m with a friend. Also my feet were killing me from all the walking I did, word of advice, if you’re planning on doing a lot of walking, wear comfortable sneakers (flats, oxfords are cute but not worth it). If you look up where Kowloon Walled City is and where Mong Kok/Prince Edward Station is, that is how much I walked instead of taking a bus or the MTR. If you’re not that much of a walker, oxfords, flats and other cute shoes should be fine!

I also went to the Peak to take a look at the view. I read it was worth it so I took the little red tram which is 40 HKD for an adult roundtrip ticket. Unfortunately, it was really foggy when I went so I wasn’t able to see anything! But on the way down, the weather cleared up a little and I was able to get a glimpse of what I could have seen on a clear day, except at a lower elevation. I wrapped up my day by going eye shopping in Causeway Bay and Central. One of my favorite brands has stores in HK so I was determined to go! I actually didn’t end up buying anything but it was nice to explore the city more.

Overall, I enjoyed my solo trip and surprisingly was able to survive with just the 700 HKD I brought with me. However, I would not recommend this amount to just anyone, I tend to not eat while I travel and I like to walk everywhere rather than take public transportation if it’s ‘close enough’ so most others will probably need more than that. I did end up using only about ~500 HKD though for the weekend for anyone who wants an idea of how much it costs to travel to Hong Kong (This does not include the hotel + flight). Also, I got the Octopus card which I highly recommend! Its 150 HKD to first purchase which includes a 50 HKD deposit and the fare. I didn’t use the airport express but just bought the regular card. You can refund it later at any MTR station or at the airport and get the remaining amount back!

Leave a comment