Weekend Trip To Hong Kong Day 1

DSC_0018dsc_0045 DSC_0044DSC_0025 DSC_0052 DSC_0057 DSC_0088The poor baby was just sitting in the pouring rain and wouldn’t come underneath the small shelter where everyone else was keeping dry.

20150516_152523This is how much it was raining!dsc_0196 DSC_01822015-05-23-21-09-52_photoOver the weekend, I used my monthly day off to take a trip to Hong Kong! While I’m living in Seoul, I want to take as much advantage of its location and try to travel whenever I can. I chose Hong Kong this time since it’s pretty convenient. They speak English and I don’t need a visa. I arrived at noon and took a bus to get to my hotel. I’m a planner so I already booked my hotel and I just had to check in. After dropping off my luggage I immediately headed back out. From there, I made my way toward Lantau Island to see Tian Tian Buddha (also known as Big Buddha). Literally, he is BIG. Unfortunately, I chose the wrong weekend to come. It was pretty much all gloomy and rainy/t-storms. Although the view wasn’t was spectacular as it could have been, it’s still a pretty amazing sight to see. For those who are afraid of heights, I definitely suggest avoiding the cable car and using the ferry to get there. I opted for the cable car and a standard round trip is 165 HKD.

From there, I went to Central to take the star ferry to Tsim Sha Tsui (where I was staying) and also where the Avenue of Stars is located! I highly recommend taking the star ferry, it’s only 3.40 HKD (on weekends) which is like ~40 cents USD. After the Avenue, I went to Temple Street to check out the famous night market before calling it a night.

Leave a comment